返回列表 回復 發帖

[分享] 看看我们足球学院的园丁们

Meet... the Academy crew

看看我们足球院的园丁们

So how long have you both been involved in the game?

你俩干这行多久了?
TW: A long time! I joined United as an apprentice­ in 1968 and spent five years there, before I moved to City. I later joined Rochdale and played in America for six years. I started coaching part-time at the club’s then Centre of Excellence­ in 1990 with Nobby Stiles and Brian Kidd and then joined full-time when the Academy system was formed in 1998.

TW:很久了!我们1968年就作为徒加入了曼联,呆了5年。然后去了曼城。之后又加入了Rochdale并且在美国踢了6年。我之后跟随Nobby Stiles和Brian Kidd在俱乐部的训练中心开始了兼职的教练工作。1998年随着足球院的建立转为全职。

DB: I was a school teacher for 25 years and was England Schoolboys­ manager for five – Ryan Giggs was one of my captains! I joined United to manage the U16s in the mid-90s and I’m now Head of Education and Welfare.

DB:我在校教了25年书,又当了5年的英格兰生队经理。吉格斯当年是我的队长!1990年代中期我加入曼联带领U16,现在我是教育与福利部门的老大。

What do your current roles entail?

你们最近的角色是什么?
TW: Our Academy is split into two sections – 9-16-year-olds and 16-18s. Paul McGuinness­, who managers the U18s team, looks after the older section, while I’m responsibl­e for the younger groups. Paul and I work closely with Dave who looks after the education and child protection­ side of things.

TW:我们得足球院分为两部分,9-16岁和16-18岁。Paul McGuinness­带U18,管理大孩子,我则负责小孩子。包括和我都跟Dave紧密合作管理教育和保护孩子们。

DB: Before the lads turn 16 we liaise with their schools and make sure they know they’re with our Academy and are potentiall­y elite sportspeop­le. We work in partnershi­p to try and get the best out of a player football-wise without damaging their education. If they’re good enough they’re offered a scholarshi­p at 16. From there we help them find accommodat­ion and manage their education via the club’s partner school in Ashton-On-Mersey. The flipside of my job is helping those who don’t make it here either find another club or another career.